U.S. Caribbean Resilience Partnership

On Monday, June 17, Deputy Secretary of State John J. Sullivan hosted representatives of almost a dozen Caribbean countries in Washington, D.C.  This meeting was a follow-up to the U.S.-Caribbean Resilience Partnership, which the Deputy Secretary, together with representatives from key U.S. agencies, and leaders from 18 Caribbean countries, launched in April 2019 to enhance collaboration for disaster recovery and preparedness.

The meeting included ambassadors and diplomats from The Bahamas, Belize, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago, as well as insurance industry CEOs from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (“NAIC”) and the American Property Casualty Insurance Association (“APCIA”).  The participants discussed ways to improve access to catastrophe insurance to support disaster recovery across the Caribbean, along with shared interests in achieving greater resilience to natural disasters and sustained cooperation to promote security, prosperity, and democracy in the Western Hemisphere.

Like our Facebook page:
US Embassy Jamaica

Follow us on Twitter:

Follow us on Instagram: