Visa Waiver Program

Under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP), holders of passports from the following countries can travel to the U.S. for tourism or business visits of 90 days or less without a visa.  Currently, 36 countries participate in the Visa Waiver Program, as shown below:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

All passport holders from these nations, however, must have machine readable passports and/or electronic passports to gain entry into the U.S.  If a national from one of these countries does not meet the VWP passport requirement or other VWP requirements, they will have to seek a visa to visit the U.S.

Applicants from Visa Waiver Program participant countries are advised that if their visa application is denied, they may no longer be eligible to participate in the Visa Waiver Program, which could complicate any plans to transit or return to the U.S.

Note: Travel under the visa waiver program must be made by commercial airline or steamship line using a return or ongoing ticket.  Persons arriving by private yacht cannot use the waiver program and must obtain a visa.  Persons who have been denied U.S. visas or who have been deported or denied entry into the U.S. or who have been arrested or convicted of any offense in any country cannot use the waiver and must apply for a visa.

Other Nations

Cayman Islands Visa Waiver: This waiver remains available for Cayman Islands passport holders who choose not to apply for a U.S. visa.  Use of the waiver provides less flexibility than possession of a visa because each application for a waiver is good for only one entry to the U.S.  In addition, Cayman Islands waivers are valid only for direct travel from the Cayman Islands to the U.S.  Further details regarding the Cayman Islands visa waiver are available from the Cayman Islands Passport Office.

Canada:  Individuals traveling on Canadian passports can visit the U.S. for tourism or business without a visa under most circumstances.

Mexico: Citizens and permanent residents of Mexico generally must have a nonimmigrant visa or border crossing card.

Bermuda: Citizens of Bermuda can visit the U.S. for tourism or business without a visa under most circumstances.

If you hold a passport from a country other than the ones described, you must obtain a visa to visit the U.S.